# CONNECTICUT PRESERVATION AWARDS

# AWARD OF MERIT

presented for rehabilitation of the

# HARTFORD TIMES BUILDING

University of Connecticut; The HB Nitkin Group; Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP; Whiting-Turner Contracting Co.; Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.; Robert A.M. Stern Interiors; Robert Silman Associates.; Kohler Ronan LLC; BSC Group; Haley & Aldrich, Inc.; Atelier Ten; Acoustics By Design, Inc.; Philip R. Sherman; Page/SST Planners; Ricca Design Studios







#### **Board of Trustees 2017-2018**

#### Officers

Chairman Garry Leonard, Madison Vice Chairman Sara Bronin, Hartford Secretary Edith Pestana, Hartford Treasurer Edward Munster, Haddam **Assistant Treasurer** Caroline Sloat, Thompson

#### **Gubernatorial Appointees**

Edith Pestana, Hartford Edmund F. Schmidt, Darien

#### Additional Members, Board of Trustees

Margaret Anderson, Marion Francis J. Chiaramonte, Harwinton Mary Catherine Curran, Hartford Bob Faesy, Wilton Jeremy Frost, Southport Ellen Gould, Southport Jane M. Grant, Clinton Henry Griggs, Madison Garrett Heher, Centerbrook Adrienne Farrar Houel, Bridgeport Charles Janson, Darien Erica Popick Kevrekian, West Hartford Leslie King, Hamden Matthew Peterson, Guilford George Schoellkopf, Washington Myron Stachiw, Woodstock Elaine Stiles, Old Lyme Peter Stockman, Killingworth Robert Svensk, Southport Maisa L. Tisdale, Trumbull John B. Toomey, Jr., Bolton Marye Wagner, Clinton Gregory Waterman, Wethersfield Anna Weber, New Haven Richard Wies, Branford

#### **Advisory Council**

Martha Alexander, New Haven J. Barclay Collins, Sharon William Crowe, Canton Jared Edwards, FAIA, West Hartford Inger Elliott, Stonington Theodore F. Ells, Branford Gerald Farrell, Jr., Wallingford Walter Fiederowicz, Charleston, SC Mimi Findlay, New Canaan Lynn Friedman, Madison Glenn Geathers, Hartford Lee G. Kuckro, Wethersfield Stephen S. Lash, Stonington Charles T. Lee. Greenwich Peter Malkin, Greenwich Cesar Pelli, FAIA, New Haven John W. Shannahan, Suffield

#### Staff

Jane Montanaro, Co-Director, Preservation Services & Operations Wes Haynes, Co-Director, External **Partnerships** Christopher Wigren, Deputy Director Brad Schide, Circuit Rider Gregory Farmer, Circuit Rider & Director, Revolving Fund Jordan Sorensen, Membership & Office Manager Erin Marchitto, Communications & Advocacy Manager Renée Tribert, Project Manager, Making Places



# 2018 CONNECTICUT **PRESERVATION AWARDS**

**Edmond Town Hall, Newtown** April 5, 2018 6:00-8:00 pm

#### 6:00 Reception

#### 6:30 Welcoming Remarks

Garry Leonard, Chairman, Board of Trustees

#### 6:45 Connecticut Preservation Awards Video & Presentation

Voiceover by Justin Fink Presentation by Christopher Wigren, *Deputy Director* 

## 2018 CONNECTICUT PRÉSERVATION AWARDS AWARDS OF MERIT

**Bolton, Bolton Heritage Farm** 

Town of Bolton; Nelson Edwards Company Architects LLC; GNCB Engineers, P.C.; Proulx Building and Remodeling LLC; Billings Media Blasting (Kent Billings LLC).

Fairfield, Fairfield Museum—Sun Tavern and Victorian Cottage Fairfield Museum; Town of Fairfield; David Scott Parker Architects.

### Greenwich, 330 Railroad Avenue (CL&P Greenwich Service Station)

Richard Granoff and Jeffrey Mendell; Granoff Architects.

Hartford, Billings Forge

Preservation of Affordable Housing, Inc.; Melville Charitable Trust; Billings Forge Community Works; Epsilon Associates, Inc.; The Architectural Team, Inc.; Keith Construction, Inc.; DH Bolton, LLC.

Hartford, Capitol Lofts (Pratt & Whitney Machine Shop)

Dakota Partners, Inc.; Crosskey Architects, LLC; Maggiore Construction Corporation, Inc.; James K. Grant Associates; Acorn Consulting Engineers; Meehan & Gooding, Engineers-Surveyors, P.C; Geoquest, Inc.

Hartford, University of Connecticut (Hartford Times building)

University of Connecticut; The HB Nitkin Group; Robert A.M. Stern Architects, LLP; Whiting-Turner Contracting Co.; Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates, Inc.; Robert A.M. Stern Interiors; Robert Silman Associates.; Kohler Ronan LLC; BSC Group; Haley & Aldrich, Inc.; Atelier Ten; Acoustics By Design, Inc.; Philip R. Sherman; Page/SST Planners; Ricca Design Studios.

Litchfield, Rufus Stillman Cottage

Kenneth Sena and Joseph Mazzaferro; Cutting Edge Construction, LLC; Alpha Plumbing and Heating Services, Inc.; Elegant Lighting LLC.

#### Milford, Sanford-Bristol House

Lesley Mills; Ray Oliver; Jay Bright; FJ Kirkham Associates; Bob & Chris Provenzano; Frederick Oram; All Phase Heating and Cooling; Larry the Painter; Stained Glass Design and Restoration; Joseph Hartman; Deborah Buskey; Steve Bielitz; Troy Kovalick Remodeling; Milford Preservation Trust.

#### New Britain, Veterans' Memorials

City of New Britain; Francis Miller Conserve ART; TO Design, LLC; Aegis Restauro.

New Haven, Victorian/Contemporary House

Anne McB. Curtis; Paul B. Bailey Architect; Baldwin & Baldwin.

### New Milford, AMEICO building (Southern New England Telephone Company building)

AMEICO, Inc.; Daniel Lamb; Glenn Hochstetter; Heritage Resources.

Stamford, Hoyt-Barnum House

Stamford History Center; City of Stamford; Christopher Williams Architects LLC; Public Archaeology Laboratory; International Chimney; Freeman Companies; Edward Stanley Engineers; CB Breen Associates; Davis Building Movers.

#### Vernon, Talcott Brothers Mill

Historic Talcott Mill, LLC; Laura Knott-Twine; The Architects; Crosskey Architects LLC; Design Professionals, Inc.; James K. Grant Associates; Acorn Consulting Engineers, Inc.; Cutter Enterprises, LLC; Rome Clifford Katz & Koerner, LLP; Fiondella, Milone & LaSaracina.

#### Weston: Lachat Farm

Friends of Lachat; Town of Weston Lachat Farm Commission; Nature Conservancy; Robert Hatch, architect; Salem Preservation LLC.

\*\*\*\*\*

MIMI FINDLAY AWARD, for young preservationists

Regan Miner, presented by Mimi Findlay

**JANET JAINSCHIGG AWARD**, for preservation professionals **John Herzan**, presented by Jane Montanaro, *Co-Director* 

#### TRUSTEES' AWARD FOR STEWARDSHIP

**George Malkemus and Anthony Yurgaitis, Arethusa Farm,** Presented by Christopher Wigren, *Deputy Director*